Confidentiality

From Marathon Documentation
Revision as of 13:28, 9 October 2026 by TR (talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Confidentiality and authorisation to clients and projects

General information on authorisation to projects An employee who is a client manager, project manager or production manager, is a member of the project team, or has authorisation to view all confidential projects, can always view the project. This applies to project queries, reports and invoicing. For time reporting, you can set whether all projects should be displayed or not. There are two ways to control authorisation to projects, as described here. One method is to assign authorisation to a client and then use the client to control which staff members are able to view that client and their associated projects. The other method is to set up confidentiality management at company level. Confidentiality management is more complex and offers greater flexibility in controlling which staff members can view all confidential projects, or only certain projects.  Restrict authorisation to a client and its associated projects On the client in Project | Backoffice | Base registers, under the Authorisation tab, you can specify for each client which employees are authorised to view all that client’s projects. Fill in Employee group and/or Working team and/or Employee.

Authorisation to all clients Authorisation to all clients is set in System | Authorisation.


Time reporting on projects with restricted authorisation The option to allow everyone to report time on all projects is controlled by the Report on confidential projects setting, which is in Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, on the Fees tab under the heading Time reporting.


Confidentiality settings in the project accounting This section describes the slightly more complex configuration of confidentiality management. To enable this, specify the Lowest authorisation level for confidential projects in Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, on the Authorisation Levels tab, where 0 is the lowest authorisation level and 9 is the highest.



9 means that all employees with authorisation 9 to the PRO subsystem in System | Base registers | Users, the Authorisation Classic, will have access to all confidential clients and projects. Settings for authorisations Classic on the user are rarely used; nowadays the newer authorisation management in System | Authorisation is used. There you can find confidential projects.

Classify clients and projects as confidential Clients and their projects are classified as confidential in Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Clients and projects. Open the client and check the Confidential checkbox in the Parameters 2 tab. This is a synchronised parameter from client to project. To automatically classify new clients as confidential, set the parameter Standard suggestion new clients: Confidential in Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, on the Clients and Projects tab. Individual projects are classified under Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Clients and Projects. Open the project and tick the Confidential box in the Parameters 2 tab. This is a synchronised task, so if only one project is to be marked as confidential, the project must first be desynchronised. This is also done in the Parameters 2 tab, in the Synchronise project with client box. If a project is classified, those authorised to view confidential projects – the client manager, project manager and production manager – can view the project. In addition, the project team can view the project.

Team Teams are added to the client and/or project under the ‘Team’ tab. Specify the employees who are to have access to the client/project. Please note that if the team is added to the client, it must also be added to existing projects. However, the team will automatically be added to new projects. The project team always has access to a confidential project.






Report time on confidential projects Under Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, on the Fees tab under the heading Time Reporting, there is a setting called Report on confidential projects. This setting determines whether confidential projects should be visible in time reporting or not.


Examples Below are some examples of confidentiality settings and how to configure them. Example 1 Only employee MEDA shall have access to a project that no one else is permitted to view. Otherwise, MEDA shall be able to view all projects. Settings Set the project that MEDA is to view as confidential and add MEDA to the team. Activate Report on confidential projects under Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, on the Fees tab under the heading Time Reporting. Example 2 The employee MEDA shall only have access to one project, no other projects. All other employees shall have access to all projects. Setting Classify all clients and projects as confidential, except the one that MEDA shall have access to. give all other employees except MEDA authorisation to confidential projects in System | Authorisation, Show confidential projects. Set the parameter Standard suggestion new clients: Confidential in Project | Backoffice | Base registers Clients and projects. Set the parameter Report on confidential projects in Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, the Fees tab, under the heading Time reporting. Example 3 Only employee MEDA shall have access to a project and only that one. No other employees are to see the project, but they shall have access to all other projects. Setting Classify all clients and projects as confidential MEDA is added in the Team on the project; the other employees are added in Team for all other projects. Set the parameter Standard suggestion new clients: Confidential in Project | Backoffice | Base registers Clients and projects. Set the parameter Report on confidential projects in Project | Backoffice | Base registers | Parameters, the Fees tab, under the heading Time reporting.